Newton Raytracer - Now Interactive!

Share with us how are you using the powerrrr of the force

Moderator: Alain

Re: Newton Raytracer

Postby agi_shi » Sat Nov 22, 2008 6:28 pm

:shock:

Boost.Thread really does make it easy, though:
Code: Select all
struct pixel
{
    float x, y;
    engine::byte *p;
    pixel(float x, float y, engine::byte *p):
        x(x), y(y), p(p) {}
};

void tracePixel(const pixel &p, const mat4 &mat, const phys::world &w, const lightList &lights)
{
    // y goes from bottom to top
    ray_t r = screenRay(p.x, p.y, mat);
    vec3 c = saturate(colourFromRay(r, w, lights).get_value_or(vec3(0, 0, 0)));

    for (size_t j = 0; j < 3; ++j)
        p.p[j] = engine::byte(c[j] * 255.0);
    p.p[3] = 255;
}

void tracePixels(const std::vector<pixel> &pixels, const mat4 &mat, const phys::world &w, lightList &lights)
{
    for (size_t i = 0, j = 0; i < pixels.size(); ++i, ++j)
    {
        tracePixel(pixels[i], mat, w, lights);

        if (j == 1024)
        {
            j = 0;
            std::cout << float(i) / pixels.size() * 100 << " %\n";
        }
    }
}

struct tracer
{
    std::vector<pixel> pixels;
    mat4 mat;
    const phys::world &w;
    lightList lights;
    tracer(const std::vector<pixel> &pixels, const mat4 &mat, const phys::world &w, const lightList &lights):
        pixels(pixels), mat(mat), w(w), lights(lights) {}

    void operator()()
    {
        tracePixels(pixels, mat, w, lights);
    }
};

// in main()
for (size_t i = 1; i < pixels.size(); ++i)
    {
        threads.push_back(boost::shared_ptr<boost::thread>(
            new boost::thread(tracer(pixels[i], invMat, world, lights))));
    }

// main thread do the first pixels
    tracePixels(pixels[0], invMat, world, lights);


I'm just rendering myself some backgrounds in the meantime on 2 cores. Kind of hard to browse the internet, even :mrgreen:
agi_shi
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:54 pm

Re: Newton Raytracer

Postby Dave Gravel » Sat Nov 22, 2008 10:20 pm

Amd Phenom 9500 2.2mhz mem 3gig:
512 512 1 = 25 sec
512 512 2 = 15 sec
512 512 3 = 10 sec
512 512 4 = 5 sec
1024 1024 4 30 sec

Very nice stuff.
Good work.
You search a nice physics solution, if you can read this message you're at the good place :wink:
OrionX3D Projects & Demos:
https://orionx3d.sytes.net
https://www.facebook.com/dave.gravel1
https://www.youtube.com/user/EvadLevarg/videos
User avatar
Dave Gravel
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Quebec in Canada.

Re: Newton Raytracer

Postby Julio Jerez » Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:44 am

wow, I run this test in a freind's brand new Nahelam 2.93 ghz with 4 gbyte ram
and a 512 x 512 with 8 or 16 threads take under 3 secunds, I cna no even mesure the time using the windows clock.
a 1024 x 1025 x 16 takes under 12 secunds
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12249
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Newton Raytracer

Postby agi_shi » Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:50 pm

Wow, that's awesome :D. And there's still so many optimizations that can be done (for example, no shadow ray is needed if N.L < 0), and no computations are needed if the surface is facing away from the viewer.

Oh, and I'm going to make it render several frames. Tick the physics, and then make a movie :D (all of these are ready-to-go NewtonBody's).
agi_shi
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:54 pm

Re: Newton Raytracer

Postby agi_shi » Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:40 pm

Wow, this is great! Now my ray tracer can render consecutive physics frames :D :D

And it was as simple as:
Code: Select all
for (size_t i = 0; i < numFrames; ++i)
    {
        go(viewMat, world, lights, pixels, numThreads);
        world.tick(deltaTime);

        save(screen, i);

        std::cout << "done with frame " << i << "\n";
    }


:D

I'm going to release a new demo soon. Only problem is that it makes a bunch of images, no actual movie file... Though I'd be very interested to see how it runs on a very powerful processor :D
agi_shi
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:54 pm

Re: Newton Raytracer

Postby agi_shi » Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:45 pm

Took about ~30 minutes to render a movie: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-2ubVE1B2xc&fmt=18

Pretty short, but it's cool :D (can't really see much reflections, though, because it's kind of small) I bet you can render quite long moves a lot faster than me, and your friend can do it even faster :D :D

I'm going to upload the demo soon.
agi_shi
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:54 pm

Re: Newton Raytracer

Postby agi_shi » Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:53 pm

agi_shi
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:54 pm

Re: Newton Raytracer

Postby Julio Jerez » Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:45 pm

wow the video is very impresive. It is more consistent than I was expecting for a ray tracer from the backyard. Very very coll.
can you make a video a 4 time the resolution and dowun sample it so that it looks at the collest?

Unfortunatly the Nahelen is not mine I was testing in the house of friend over the Thanth Given Dinner.
They think I am a from another planet because I work with computers.
so the ask for my advise getting a new machine and they I had to put it together for them.
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12249
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Newton Raytracer

Postby agi_shi » Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:09 pm

Sure. That was at 512x512, so maybe I'll do a 2048x2048... Or only 1024x1024. I want to leave it overnight, but I'm afraid it still won't finish if the size is too big. If every frame takes ~15 minutes at 2048x2048 with 1000 spheres, then I can do at most 68 frames :|
agi_shi
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:54 pm

Re: Newton Raytracer

Postby agi_shi » Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:14 am

Alright, I left a 2048x2048 1000-ball 128-frame job running over the night, and it just finished frame 104. Here's a preview of the graphics quality:
Image
I think I'll let it render a few more frames until I get ready for school and then I'll stop it, give my computer some time to cool off (CPU was at 59C at one point since I turned off a few fans so I could sleep).
agi_shi
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:54 pm

Re: Newton Raytracer

Postby agi_shi » Thu Dec 04, 2008 5:10 pm

Here's the overnight video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6-lR5cBYuY&fmt=18

A bit short and crappy, but it's still pretty cool. I'll upload a new demo soon.
agi_shi
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:54 pm

Re: Newton Raytracer - Now Interactive!

Postby agi_shi » Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:23 pm

So, anyone tried the interactive demo? I need to know if it works, or if the whole console thing doesn't work (I run it from my IDE, so I'm not sure if running it from cmd.exe will work the same way).

Anyways, convex hulls and eggs and boxs all work as expected:
Image
Image
Image
agi_shi
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:54 pm

Re: Newton Raytracer - Now Interactive!

Postby Julio Jerez » Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:49 pm

Is there an imteractive demo, you say?
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12249
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Newton Raytracer - Now Interactive!

Postby agi_shi » Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:59 pm

There was, but I took the link down because I got reports that it caused weird blue screens :shock: . I'm going to debug it and then re-upload.
agi_shi
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:54 pm

Previous

Return to User Gallery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests