NewtonBodySetAngularDamping() - expensive?

A place to discuss everything related to Newton Dynamics.

Moderators: Sascha Willems, walaber

NewtonBodySetAngularDamping() - expensive?

Postby misho » Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:44 pm

I was just wondering if continuously adjusting NewtonBodySetAngularDamping() is computationally expensive?

I use it to simulate small angular drag on rotating objects that exists in atmosphere, but is absent in vacuum. Basically, a rotating object in atmosphere (not in contact with anything) will eventually slow down, and the same object in vacuum will rotate forever. I adjust it according to the atmospheric pressure: full value at sea level, and no value in vacuum.
Misho Katulic
CTO, FSX SpacePort
TerraBuilder
www.terrabuilder.com
misho
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 10:13 am

Re: NewtonBodySetAngularDamping() - expensive?

Postby Julio Jerez » Tue Jun 11, 2019 2:42 pm

no at all is just a number that is save with the body.
the coefficients is compute each time the value changes by that just an o(1) operation.
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10993
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: NewtonBodySetAngularDamping() - expensive?

Postby misho » Tue Jun 11, 2019 5:36 pm

Excellent, thank you!
Misho Katulic
CTO, FSX SpacePort
TerraBuilder
www.terrabuilder.com
misho
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 10:13 am

Re: NewtonBodySetAngularDamping() - expensive?

Postby Sweenie » Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:27 am

Hey Misho, saw on E3 that Microsoft Flight Simulator is getting a new release. Looks amazing.



Do you think your mod will work with that?
Sweenie
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 7:59 am
Location: Sweden

Re: NewtonBodySetAngularDamping() - expensive?

Postby misho » Fri Aug 09, 2019 3:42 pm

Hi! sorry, just saw this, I wasn't monitoring the thread...

Yes - it looks amazing! And yes - we built FSX SpacePort with modularity and portability in mind. It all depends on if MS carries on the support for third party developers (which they announced recently they will) and if they open up FS2020 the same way they did FSX (enabling add-ons to use it as a server). Again, all the indications are that they will.

cheers,
Misho
Misho Katulic
CTO, FSX SpacePort
TerraBuilder
www.terrabuilder.com
misho
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 10:13 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron