NewtonWaitForUpdateToFinish problem

A place to discuss everything related to Newton Dynamics.

Moderators: Sascha Willems, walaber

Re: NewtonWaitForUpdateToFinish problem

Postby JernejL » Thu May 23, 2019 2:57 am

I actually use timestep 0.1 / 6.0 and everything is made for that, i think this was sort of a mistake i made at beginning of development still working on newton 1.3/1.5 and everything is adjusted for that.

I've tried NewtonSetNumberOfSubsteps but everything moves slower - i assume i'd have to take timestep passed in forcetorque into account for this to work properly?

edit:
if you sync before this morning please do it again, I committed the Async functionality late last night.


Synced it again and it works well - no problems.
Help improving the Newton Game Dynamics WIKI
User avatar
JernejL
 
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 2:00 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: NewtonWaitForUpdateToFinish problem

Postby Julio Jerez » Thu May 23, 2019 8:55 am

Oh i see it is 0.1/6.0
This is the same as 1/60.

The two sub step should not affect the Speed at all.
If in your call back you use the dt passed by the call back.
I have recommended this method to few people already and all the bug gas been sorted out.
Please try again this us a far better solution that scales with the parallel solver while the cc'd per body does not.
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10954
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: NewtonWaitForUpdateToFinish problem

Postby JernejL » Tue May 28, 2019 5:14 am

I will try to upgrade my callbacks to take timestep into account but this can take a while for me as nothing is ready to work with variable timestep.

If i can make tests regarding continous collisions, i can test that as soon as you can make updates to re-enable it :)
Help improving the Newton Game Dynamics WIKI
User avatar
JernejL
 
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 2:00 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: NewtonWaitForUpdateToFinish problem

Postby Julio Jerez » Tue May 28, 2019 9:21 am

JernejL wrote:I will try to upgrade my callbacks to take timestep into account but this can take a while for me as nothing is ready to work with variable timestep.

is not a variable time step. is a dt divided but the supstep count

but even when using continue collision you will get a callback with time step set to zero.
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10954
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron