Manually create mesh

A place to discuss everything related to Newton Dynamics.

Moderators: Sascha Willems, walaber

Manually create mesh

Postby Slick » Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:04 am

I'm still trying to get this to work. For example is it adequate to create on triangle for testing? Here is some basic code but I am not getting a collision item from it:

Code: Select all
dNewtonMesh buildMesh(mWorld->GetNewton());

   // start build a mesh
   buildMesh.BeginBuild();

   buildMesh.BeginPolygon();
   buildMesh.AddPoint(-300, 0, -300);
   buildMesh.AddPoint(300, 0, -300);
   buildMesh.AddPoint(-300, 0, 300);
   buildMesh.EndPolygon();

   buildMesh.EndBuild();

   // get the newtonMesh from the dNewtonMesh class and use it to build a render mesh, collision or anything
   NewtonMesh* const newtonMesh = buildMesh.GetMesh();

   // now we can use this mesh for lot of stuff, we can apply UV, we can decompose into convex,
   NewtonCollision* const collision = NewtonCreateConvexHullFromMesh(mWorld->GetNewton(), newtonMesh, 0.001f, 0);


NewtonCollision* const collision is returned a a nullptr.
Slick
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:24 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Manually create mesh

Postby Sweenie » Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:54 am

A triangle should be enough for the tree collider but not for a convex collider. A convex collider requires a volume which a single triangle doesn't have.
Sweenie
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 7:59 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Manually create mesh

Postby Slick » Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:16 am

Yep made a bit of progress since I posted. I added a second triangle and I got a collision. I think part of the problem is I'm trying to use the dNewton interface and the example in the usingmeshtool is a mixture of C and dNewton. I need to be able to construct a dNewtonCollision.

In theory I should be able to exclusively use the dNewton interface.

More research.
Slick
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:24 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Manually create mesh

Postby Slick » Sun Nov 04, 2018 7:34 am

When I am adding points I am used to x = left/right; y=up; z=forward/back. Is that the coordinate system Newton uses? If it isn't maybe I could be providing bad point data but maybe it should work anyway but just be rotated.
Slick
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:24 pm
Location: Los Angeles


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests