Fresh clone from git and error about Vulkan

A place to discuss everything related to Newton Dynamics.

Moderators: Sascha Willems, walaber

Fresh clone from git and error about Vulkan

Postby Slick » Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:33 am

Using Windows and VS 2017. I did a fresh clone and ran cmake. I can't get the generate to finish because it is complaining about:

Could NOT find Vulkan (missing: VULKAN_LIBRARY VULKAN_INCLUDE_DIR)


Is Vulkan a requirement or do the CMakeLists.txt need to be modified?
Slick
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:24 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Fresh clone from git and error about Vulkan

Postby Slick » Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:20 am

OK it looks like it is probably related to the samples. I unchecked GLFW_INSTALL and NEWTON_DEMOS_SANDBOX. Unfortunately that means I probably won't have samples built.

I'll see if it works now.
Slick
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:24 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Fresh clone from git and error about Vulkan

Postby Julio Jerez » Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:00 am

The demos use opengl, not the Vulcan library.
We should fix the cmake script.
I see what I can do.
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 11039
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Fresh clone from git and error about Vulkan

Postby Slick » Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:05 am

OK thanks - I might get the samples up and running after all. For now I can just read the code to try and work out what changed in the versions that I need to rework.
Slick
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:24 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Fresh clone from git and error about Vulkan

Postby Julio Jerez » Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:19 am

Were you able to build the demos?
is so there has been many optimisation almost all for multicore execution.
Many algorithm has been changed to a more multithreaded friendly version,
Unfortunately this mean that some thing has to give, for example ordering joints for faster convergence do nothing, instead we need to make up with more passes, an other stuff like that.

All in all multithreaded is not longer an academic exercise in newton, it is in fact faster or equal than single threaded.

Anyway, if you can run the demos please tell my if you get better or worse performance and what kind of system you are running.
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 11039
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Fresh clone from git and error about Vulkan

Postby Slick » Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:31 am

I haven't tried to build them yet. I will try.

I was able to biuld the Newton libraries after the changes I mentioned related to CMake.

Please see my other post about CustomArcticulatedTransformManager I'm struggling to work out what happened since I think 3.13. Is there a missing source file?
Slick
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:24 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Fresh clone from git and error about Vulkan

Postby Slick » Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:33 am

I'm running Windows with 6 cores using VS 2017. I don't have much to compare against but can give you impressions of performance. I can't get my app working yet due to other problems mentioned.
Slick
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:24 pm
Location: Los Angeles


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron