Little question about collision (solved)

A place to discuss everything related to Newton Dynamics.

Moderators: Sascha Willems, walaber

Little question about collision (solved)

Postby Virginie » Wed Apr 08, 2009 8:41 am

Hello,

I want to use newton only for collision.
I plan to create bodies, collision's primitives and matérials. I plan too to define userBegin(), userProcess() and userEnd() for callback. So when all that will be created ,have to do else or the collision detection is automatic ? Existes it a function to call or it's not use?

I see NewtonUpdate(...), it 's the only function that I have to call?

Excuse me for my english
Last edited by Virginie on Thu Apr 09, 2009 10:40 am, edited 2 times in total.
Virginie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:29 am

Re: Little question about collision

Postby JernejL » Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:10 am

Try: NewtonCollisionCollide
Help improving the Newton Game Dynamics WIKI
User avatar
JernejL
 
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 2:00 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Little question about collision(not solved)

Postby Virginie » Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:58 am

Thanks for your speedy answer but I want to compute the collisions for all bodies so I think that Newton can do this without I have to do a loop in all bodies with collisionCollide. And precisely in tutos there aren't enought, that's why I think it's automatic if I configure correctly all. no?
Virginie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:29 am

Re: Little question about collision (not solved)

Postby armokal » Thu Apr 09, 2009 10:26 am

NewtonUpdate is just a function to execute the simulation for a given amount of time.
You need to have a loop that looks something like this:

loop(....);
{
glClear(....);
RenderScene();
NewtonUpdate(time);
SwapBuffers();
}

NewtonUpdate advances the simulation just a little bit at a time. Also, check out the demoes in the SDK.
armokal
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:03 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Little question about collision (solved)

Postby Virginie » Thu Apr 09, 2009 10:39 am

Ok thank you for your answer.

But in other forum, I've got an answer which explain me that in Newton 1.53 we can't use collision without physic moving. So I want to use now the beta version.
Virginie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:29 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests

cron