Built-in hinge joint limits

A place to discuss everything related to Newton Dynamics.

Moderators: Sascha Willems, walaber

Built-in hinge joint limits

Postby Ender13 » Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:50 pm

Well, looking through the documentation I've found 2 or 3 ways to implement hinge joint limits, but they all require callbacks. I'm using the Leadwerks Engine and BlitzMax, and using callbacks to the dll requires me to use byte pointers, and I'm no pro programmer so it's way over my head.

Since ball and socket joints have a built in command to set the cone limits I was wondering why there isn't a built in command for hinge limits. It seems like a pretty standard feature for joints in a physics engine. I have been battling getting ragdolls in Leadwerks Engine and the lack of hinge joint limits is driving me crazy! :mrgreen:
Ender13

Re: Built-in hinge joint limits

Postby Julio Jerez » Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:00 pm

that joint inteface is part of an opsoleted interface in which each feature had to be hard code inside the engine.
The Custom Joint Library supersede all of the build in joints and they have a C inteface as well.
The cudtom joint allow the end user to write the control regulat joints in data drive way rather than by using callbacks.
For that the joint libary now provides this interface.
Code: Select all
// Generic 6 degree of Freedom Joint
JOINTLIBRARY_API NewtonCustomJoint *CreateCustomJoint6DOF (const dFloat* pinsAndPivoChildFrame, const dFloat* pinsAndPivoParentFrame, const NewtonBody* child, const NewtonBody* parent);
JOINTLIBRARY_API void CustomJoint6DOF_SetLinearLimits (NewtonCustomJoint* customJoint6DOF, const dFloat* minLinearLimits, const dFloat* maxLinearLimits);
JOINTLIBRARY_API void CustomJoint6DOF_SetAngularLimits (NewtonCustomJoint* customJoint6DOF, const dFloat* minAngularLimits, const dFloat* maxAngularLimits);
JOINTLIBRARY_API void CustomJoint6DOF_GetLinearLimits (NewtonCustomJoint* customJoint6DOF, dFloat* minLinearLimits, dFloat* maxLinearLimits);