newton crash on amd phenom and core2dou

Report any bugs here and we'll post fixes

Moderators: Sascha Willems, Thomas

newton crash on amd phenom and core2dou

Postby collerblade » Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:51 am

hi,
i want to staticly link newton to one of my project.
1 compile ampPhysics, core, newton, physics and pthread modules. All staticly linked, multi threaded versions. I use the newest visual studio 2015 (release x64).
Than i link these libraries to my project, call NewtonCreate(), and it works on my intel i3 cpu, but crashes on intel core2 dou and amd x6. Same result on windows 7 and 10. Only cpu matters.
It looks like the crash happens near the compvector4 or something like that. Does newton uses some sse instructons that amd doesnt support? is there any newton specific compiler flag i have to use?

Ty Collerblade
collerblade
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 12:09 pm

Re: newton crash on amd phenom and core2dou

Postby JoeJ » Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:27 am

There is this in dgTypes.h:
Code: Select all
#if (defined (_WIN_32_VER) || defined (_WIN_64_VER))
   #define DG_SSE4_INSTRUCTIONS_SET
   #include <intrin.h>
#endif


Probably commenting it out would help?
Seems Julio has abandoned older SSE versions.
User avatar
JoeJ
 
Posts: 1453
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:18 pm

Re: newton crash on amd phenom and core2dou

Postby collerblade » Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:10 am

TY, thats helped. I didnt found any kind of sse instruction ifdef. Maybe i was blind.
collerblade
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 12:09 pm


Return to Bugs and Fixes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron